Two colonial Capitols stood on this site. The first was begun in 1701, occupied in 1704, and burned in 1747. The second Capitol, completed 1753, was the seat of government for the colony and then state, until Virginia relocated its capital to Richmond in 1780; the unused second Capitol burned in 1832. There was a desire to reconstruct the building used in the years leading up to the American Revolution because of the important events that had occurred there. For example, the Houses of Burgesses, without dissent, on May 15, 1776 adopted a measure directing the Virginia delegation to the Continental Congress in Philadelphia to propose the colonies' independence from England, and Richard Henry Lee's motion in that body the next month "led directly to the Declaration of Independence." The first Capitol, however, is the one reconstructed, a decision influenced by the greater amount of information available about its architecture; also, the unique curved end walls on the south side gave the first Capitol more architectural distinction. The reconstructed Capitol is in Williamsburg Historic District, which is both a National Historic Landmark (1960) and on the National Register of Historic Places (1966, entry 66000925).